The BETTER PARENTING, BETTER KIDS Blog Tour!!!

Hi, my name is Nonnie Jules and welcome to the 1st day of my BETTER PARENTING, BETTER KIDS Blog Tour. Today I’m being hosted by my fellow RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB board member, Kathryn Treat, on her blog BE MY GUEST.   I am honored that Kathryn offered to kick off my tour as she was one of the first people to ever read my parenting guide, THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS. She loved the book so much that she, of course, gave it a 5 star review. Here is a snippet of her review: “This book could be applicable to parents of sons as well, and would make a GREAT baby shower gift for NEW moms.” Kathryn and I quickly became friends, and it was greatly in part because of our parenting values. She, like me, also has two (almost) perfect daughters and she could relate to many of the points I had laid out in this guide.
Many times, people are drawn to each other for various reasons, most often because of commonalities they share. But in my case, I often find myself surrounded by parents who have kids who are the total opposite of mine. I’ve come to realize that the reason is because our parenting styles differ greatly.
I won’t say that I’m a strict parent, but I will say that there are certain things that I won’t compromise on (whether the child is 5 or 25): respect and manners. That being said, I have zero tolerance for poorly behaved children (and poorly behaved adults, for that matter), disrespectful children, and a lack of manners (for those kids who are of the age to “know better” in certain situations).
I am a firm believer that there are “some” things that children can come into the world knowing, but the major things have to be taught. From about 2-3 months after conception of both my daughters, I would often have conversations with them {in my tummy}, letting them know what would be acceptable and unacceptable when they made their entrances into my world. My husband would laugh if he walked by and I was having such a conversation with my “belly,” but hey, there was really a baby in there who was listening to me!
I can remember as if it were yesterday, repeatedly saying the following to them (while they were in my tummy):
“When you get here, you will not break mommy’s things” LOL;
“When you get here, you will be kind and respectful to others”.
Little did we know that those “lessons” would produce two of the most incredible daughters ever! My husband now tells parents-to-be: “Be sure you start teaching them early…while they’re still in the oven baking, because it really works!” Well, it seems he’s not laughing at me now, is he? Instead, he’s witnessing about that, which I knew early on. Call it my mother’s intuition if you want, but I knew, somewhere deep inside, that if I started “that” early, the results would be very different and not the norm.
When I was in college, I made the decision that I didn’t want kids. In my mind, they were just too messy and too much trouble and I was going to lead this grand life where there would be no room for these little people. When I got married and became expectant with my first child, I began to see things differently. I looked around the world and I knew instantly, what I DID NOT want my daughters to become. I saw these children who were so ill-mannered, that even now, I cringe when I hear a child call an adult by their first name without putting a “handle” before it…you know, “Mrs., Ms, Mr.” My skin crawls when I hear a parent calling out to their child and the child yells back, “What?” and I literally want to pull my finger nails off with plyers when I see a child throwing a tantrum in the store, or a child being disrespectful, by “talking back” to an adult. {In my mind, I’m secretly willing the parents to leave them with me for just one hour and I would promise the return of a most well-behaved child}.
I detest rudeness, so do you honestly think that I would have rude children? Absolutely not. I’m called Ms. Manners in some circles, so do you think that you would ever see a child of mine exhibiting poor ones? It would never happen.
We’ve all heard these two adages:
“The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.”
“If you want something you’ve never had, then you’ve got to do something you’ve never done.”
Well, I decided BEFORE my kids were born, that I was going to parent better. I knew that would be the only way for me to get the great kids that I now have. I was well aware that the parenting that I had seen before me, hadn’t worked, and I knew this because of the great many poorly parented kids I saw, even within my own family. I was determined to break this cycle so I went back to my own childhood, and although I don’t parent entirely the way my parents did, many of my methods are, as they say, “from the old school.” This new age parenting, let me ask some of you {in the voice and words of Sarah Palin}, “How’s that working out for ya?” With the crime rate growing because of young kids, I would go so far as to say, “Not well at all.”
Parents, we have to cultivate better if we want to produce better crops. We have to spend more time on them, and without neglecting ourselves, less time on those things that shouldn’t be as important as they are.
I hope that you will follow me for the next 7 days as I give you more insight into how we can create a much better world, and how better parenting can produce better kids. Even if you think this doesn’t involve you because you don’t have kids or your kids are grown, think of it this way: I’m sure you have nieces, nephews, grandkids or even god-children,  who you want to be the best. And maybe, just maybe, their parents aren’t able to read this message or the others I will be sharing on future stops. YOU can be their saving grace. YOU can be their messenger.  {TOUR LINE UP}.
I look forward to seeing you on my next stop where I will have another great message waiting just for you!

BOOK TRAILER

TGMG on BN counter med

AUTHOR BIO:
Nonnie Jules is the mother of two beautifully kind daughters, who along with the help of her husband, have turned out to be two of the greatest assets to this world. THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS is her first published piece of work and two weeks after publication, it hit Amazon’s Top 100 list, where it reached the #7 mark. With all the violence which is being exhibited by some children today, it is her vision and goal to get THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE…into the hands of everyone who breathes around a child. She feels the only way we can make this happen, is if we are all working from a common blueprint. Ms. Jules strongly believes that every opportunity we are given with a child, should be a teaching one for us and a learning one for them.
So far, Ms. Jules has authored two other books: a novel which she released in November of 2013, entitled “DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER, NIGHTMARE’S FRIEND” and “SUGARCOATIN’ IS FOR CANDY & PACIFYIN’ IS FOR KIDS!” where she shares her no-holds-barred style of teaching us all about support and social media. Her second parenting guide {THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO BULLY-PROOF KIDS} is due for release the beginning of January, 2015 and the sequel to her debut novel, DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER, shortly after. (Both have been delayed due to her extensive workload with RRBC).
She is a fan of the well-written word, and so along with 3 partners, she started 4WillsPublishing Co. in November, 2013 to assist other writers in putting out their best work ever. By December, 2013, she had founded the RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB where in less than a year, the membership has rapidly grown to well over 500. If you’re not a member yet, this is your personal invitation to JOIN US!
As you can see, Nonnie is an Author on the move and if you’re interested in keeping up with her, here is her contact info (and a good pair of running shoes would help as well):
Twitter: @nonniejules
Facebook: Nonnie Jules, Author
Blogs/Websites:
4WillsPublishing.wordpress.com
BooksByNonnie.wordpress.com
NonnieWrites.wordpress.com

Thanks for stopping by and for your awesome show of support!   Please be kind enough to like this page before you leave as well as tweeting it, sharing it on Facebook and if you leave a comment, you could possibly win a seat ON THE SHELF with me in an upcoming segment at Rave Reviews Book Club! (For RRBC Members only).  Oh, and I invite you to pick up your own copy of THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE…I guarantee you a non-boring, very entertaining read.  IT’S NOT YOUR TYPICAL PARENTING GUIDE!!!

DDNF1 - Copy

BOOK TRAILER

****

NJ Cover Design-1

Leave a Reply

