Are You Raising Your Kids To Be Common (Like Everybody Else) or Exceptional?

I recently read a review of my book  “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS”, 100 Tips On Raising Daughters Everyone Can’t Help But Love!  Now this review was totally negative, and although I know that every review is just the opinion of one, even when similar reviews pop up and carry  the same undertones, I’m just appreciative that the time was taken to read it.

I have never been one to follow the crowds or the masses.  I have never been one to jump on a bandwagon simply because it was the fullest.  So, I guess all of you can take from this that I have never been a follower, always a leader.  I mean, I’m hesitant to even be called a FOLLOWER on Twitter simply because I don’t like being tagged as one…anywhere… period.  So, I’m saying all of this to get you prepped for this blog.  Now let’s go back to that review…

This reviewer said a few things (and I will try to share the best ones):

1) “You sound dated” – Well, I never!  (But, I’m sure somewhere I have).  That being said, I will continue to sound DATED if it means that the world is filled with better children.  Monsters are being raised and sent out into the world to hurt, to maim and to kill.  And I would take “my kind of daughters” any day, over the ones I see walking the streets, ON THE NEWS (for not-so-good-reasons), and the ones you all whisper about when you see them misbehaving and dressing like trollops while you’re in the grocery store.  Yes, I did say that, because let’s face it, most of us think it.

2) “People are going to stop in their tracks, put down your book and run far, far away if the very first thing they read is DON’T HAVE SEX!”–  In today’s society, there are girls as young as 10 and 11 yrs old getting pregnant, so somewhere, someone should have been telling and teaching them NOT TO HAVE SEX, especially at such a young age.  There are girls also that young, walking around with sexually transmitted diseases.  Why?  Because no one took the time to teach them that they needed to wait…that they needed to grow their minds not just their bodies, and most often these same girls are having sex with multiple partners.  How sad is this?  I’m glad that my daughter has chosen to wait, and if and when the time comes that she feels she can’t wait any longer, I will still be proud that she cared enough about herself to wait as long as she did.

Yes, I’m very proud that my adult daughter is still a virgin.  I’m not ashamed to say that and no matter how many negative, ugly (obviously purely jealous) reviews I get on this matter, it’s not going to change my take on it.  People don’t stop me in restaurants, in line at the market or on the street after talking to, or overhearing my daughter’s conversations, etc. to comment on their behavior for no reason.  They do it because the behavior they see exhibited isn’t the norm.  It isn’t common, and they are amazed and impressed that there are still those kinds of daughters in this world.

So, let’s move on from that reviewer’s review because I’m glad to share that I receive MORE reviews in favor of the tips in the book, than the ones I receive like this one. Actually, I think this is the very FIRST review that I’ve received that wasn’t 4-5 stars (the ones that were written by the kids who said they would never read the book because “who cares if your daughter is a virgin”, don’t even begin to count).   Take a look below (once inside the link scroll down just a little to the video).  I must warn you, there is violence and profanity:

Common daughters that are being sent out into the world: 

So, what I take from that is this:  her parents should have been a bit more “DATED” in their parenting.  Would you agree?  If they had been, would she be on the street, in public displaying such criminal behavior?  I think not.  The problem today is we have too many lax parents who don’t care what their kids are doing, just as long as they are not bothering them.  But sadly, what they do care about is the opinion of others when raising their kids to be something other than common.

I took the time to raise my daughters properly, the correct way.  It was and still is my most important job.  I do not care about the opinions of others in regards to my parenting methods because they turned out two exceptional people who will go out into society and make it a much better place for all of you.

I boast daily about my daughters and the way they are.  I boast because I’m the proudest Mommy alive.  Now tell me, when’s the last time you heard a mom boasting of this:  “Oh yes, she sleeps with every Tom, Dick and Harry around!  She goes out into the street and she beats up other girls!  She cusses and disrespects her teachers at school and they call me daily about this!  She bullied the little girl down the street and caused the little girl to almost kill herself.  She disrespects me and her father!  I am so proud!”  I don’t ever want to breathe the same air as a parent who thinks like this.  And sadly, I move around in a world daily with tons of them.

What kind of kids are you raising?  Are you raising them to be common, just like everybody else? OR, are you raising them to be exceptional human beings?  I pray it is the latter.

7 thoughts on “Are You Raising Your Kids To Be Common (Like Everybody Else) or Exceptional?

  1. Kathryn, we need more parents like you and I to make this world a better place. I was horrified at the violence coming from a CHILD. The foul language that spewed from her mouth. It makes you wonder what the next generation will be like. It’s frightening!

    Like

  2. I had to stop the video once it got violent. It pained me to see this. I remember in 6th grade moving to a new school in a new town. I remember running home and telling my mom that two girls had been fighting and one pulled the earring out of the other’s ear. I was shocked.

    If I had seen my daughter do something like this, I would have been horrified. My daughters weren’t raised to be this way.

    Like

  3. If you ask me there is too few parents focused on raising their children. They are instead focused on their careers, their money, their friends, their hobbies. Then they wonder why their children don’t listen to them, respect them or others. Some kids close in on themselves, for lack of real relationship to their parents. You hit a real problem today. But the thing with this post is you address the reviewer, but you don’t really touch in this post about HOW to raise your kids to be exceptional… WHY or any other tips or ideas. I know it’s in your book but I did come here to read about what’s exceptional and how to do it.

    Like

    • Servantrose, thanks for stopping by and you are so right in that most of the parents of kids such as the one we viewed in that piece are busy with things that should not be as important as their kids. And in regards to the tips, the title of this blog only asked the question as to how you were raising your kids, it never implied that there would be ways here to do it. My main blog at WATCH NONNIE WRITE contains so much parenting info as well as parent tips listed here. Thanks so much again!

      Like

  4. By the way. I just love the look and color of your blog. Its giving me ideas. Also a bad review is also a good review because it gets people talking.

    Like

  5. Nonnie I just put this on my facebook page. I’m going to see how many hits I get. I get upset everytime I see this video but that is the reaction we need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

